Another wonderfully pointless product – the Apostrophe, by Alessi

I’ve often used the phrase ‘he’s got too much time on his hands and too much money’. I have a good friend who has a professional putting green in his backyard, so that’s a fair cop. I have another friend who owns two iPhones – a black one he uses during the week and a white one he uses on weekends. (His argument, brilliantly, is that while black says, “Me? I’m all about business” white on the weekend says, “Keep your wits about you, ladies and gentlemen, because when I get going, things go orf'”.)

But this morning I discovered a product that redefines the concept of surplus time married to excess cash. I give you the ‘apostrophe orange peeler by gabriele chiave for alessi’.

orange peeler

I can’t do a better job of explaining its function than this, direct from Unica Home. (The absense of capitalisation is theirs. Some might note that this is slightly ironic, given the instrument described is named for a grammatical mark):

“apostrophe” is an unusual object that does not reveal its function at first sight. actually it works very simply: everyone knows that to peel an orange you need to cut the peel along meridians and parallels. the hooked cutting edge does precisely this, and its size determines a depth of cut that is attuned to the thickness of the peel and which does not nick the flesh. it works like an agile plough to cut through the peel, leaving marks that are free and even decorative. the gesture is also made pleasing, by the ergonomic hold that adapts well to the fingers and by the material in precision-cast steel with mat finish to improve the grip. “apostrophe” is made of two parts welded together, a solid hemisphere and the other part hollow, to give the right balance when in use and to rest in an erect position when placed on a table.

I love the assertion that “everyone knows that to peel an orange you need to cut the peel along meridians and parallels”. I would suggest that a bewilderingly small proportion of the population knows this. I’d go so far as to say that I have never met a single person who is aware that an orange is blessed with meridians and parallels.

It’s brilliant – $50 for an implement that takes a very simple task and makes it significantly more complex.  I think I’ve found the perfect Christmas gift for at least two of my friends.

To subscribe to this blog, please click here

Another wonderfully pointless product – the Apostrophe, by Alessi

2 thoughts on “Another wonderfully pointless product – the Apostrophe, by Alessi

  1. Samantha says:

    Oh yes my meridians are beautiful to behold but my parallels still need some refinement so this sounds like the perfect implement!

Leave a Reply

