Can someone please explain why this exists?

waring-cordless-wine-opener

This looks awfully like a solution searching desperately for a problem.

It’s a cordless wine opener (I’m unfamiliar with the cord-encumbered variety) and is described as ‘professional quality’ (I was also unaware of ‘wine opener’ as a vocational option).

It’s described thus:

‘a rubberized body with brushed stainless accents, this portable cork popper packs a rechargeable NiMH battery pack, rechargeable base unit and removable foil cutter, and the capability to open 80 natural corks on one charge.’

I may be overreaching here as there are, after all, few people less qualified to speak on matters vinum than I, but when was the last time you approached a wine cork thinking ‘This is just going to absolutely take it out of me. I’ve scarcely the energy to evacuate this cork and, lord knows, I’m an amateur in these matters and very likely to make a complete hash of it anyway. I also seem to have strayed from the kitchen and so my corded wine cork remover is utterly without utility. What I need is a cordless, professional quality wine cork remover to relieve me of this burden”.

Or maybe you do.

Can someone please explain why this exists?

One thought on “Can someone please explain why this exists?

Leave a Reply

