I’m financially-bulimic

I’ve just moved back to Auckland. This has necessitated doing budgets with a view to buying a house. In a misguided moment I worked out how much money I’d been paid over the last ten years. Then I worked out what I had to show for it in the way of good old-fashioned assets. It was horrifying.  

This led me to self-diagnose myself as financially-bulimic.  There isn’t a noticeable shortage of money going in. But as soon as it does, it comes straight back out, purged, thrown-up. (And, just as I imagine with a conventional bulimic, a lot of it is thrown-up on clothes.)

I’m financially-bulimic

Leave a Reply

